University of Utah Receives $10.25 Million Grant to Launch Energy Frontier Research Center

The University of Utah’s College of Engineering and College of Mines and Earth Sciences recently received a four-year, $10.75 million grant from the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) to create an Energy Frontier Research Center (EFRC). The center will study how fluids interact with porous solids, vital research that could benefit the future production of oil, gas and other energy resources. It is the first time the University of Utah has received a prestigious EFRC award, which is made only every five to ten years.

Dr. Darryl Butt, Dean of the University of Utah College of Mines & Earth Sciences, is the director of the new center. EGI scientific staff and affiliate scientists will be part of the core research teams, including  Dr. Milind Deo, EGI Affiliate Scientist and Chair of the Department of Chemical Engineering, EGI Research Scientist and Senior Petrologist Dr. Bryony Richards, and EGI Associate Research Professor Dr. John McLennan.

Understanding Material Architecture and Characterization. Bryony Richards, EGI.

The group, to be called the Center for Multi-Scale Fluid-Solid Interactions in Architected and Natural Materials (MUSE), will be a multidisciplinary effort involving researchers from the U’s departments of chemical engineering, civil and environmental engineering, mechanical engineering, chemistry, metallurgical engineering, and the Energy & Geoscience Institute. It also will include personnel from the Idaho National Laboratory; Pennsylvania State University; University of California, Davis; University of Wisconsin-Madison; and the University of Wyoming.

The research will focus on how fluids like gas, oil and water interact with materials such as underground shale to improve the production of energy resources while also minimizing its environmental impact. This knowledge could be applicable to a variety of processes used by energy companies, including figuring out ways to use less water in hydraulic fracturing.

Professor Milind Deo – Chair, Department of Chemical Engineering,

“This goes to the heart of everything that happens in nanostructured materials,” said EGI Affiliate Scientist and University of Utah chemical engineering chair Milind Deo (pictured). “It goes to establishing how fluids reside in these materials and how they move.”

MUSE is one of 42 EFRC awards totaling $100 million given to centers around the country, the DOE announced June 29. The centers will help to accelerate scientific understanding in diverse energy-related fields including catalysts, electro- and photo-chemistry, geoscience, quantum materials, and nuclear and synthesis science. Their research will lay down the scientific groundwork for future advances in solar energy, nuclear energy, energy conversion and storage, electronics and computation, production of fuels and chemicals, carbon capture, and control of the earth’s subsurface, according to the DOE. Established by the department’s Office of Science in 2009, the EFRC program brings together researchers from multiple disciplines and institutions, including universities, national laboratories, and nonprofit organizations.

This article incorporates previously published contributions from the University of Utah College of Engineering newsletter, Fall 2018.